How long does it take to change your last name in Virginia?

Name change actions can take anywhere from a day to six (6) months (sometimes even longer). The time it takes for such action to be ordered/decreed varies not only from county to county, but sometimes from courthouse to courthouse as well.

How much does it cost to change your last name after marriage in Virginia?

Wait 48 hours after filing for your new Social Security card before filing for your new name on your Virginia Driver’s license. Bring your completed forms, proof of residence, your current driver’s license, and $20 for the filing fee.

What documents do I need to change my name in Virginia?

Bring this form to your local DMV office and present your current driver’s license. You will also need to bring two documents to prove your identification, such as a birth certificate or passport, and proof of your name change, i.e., marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order.

How much does it cost to change your last name?

In general, anyone can legally change their name for any reason except to commit fraud or evade the law. To make it official, you’ll need a court order legally changing your name. The procedure for getting that order depends on the state and county where you live—and the cost will range from $150 to $436.

Can I change my last name to my boyfriend without getting married?

If you’d like to take your unmarried partner’s last name, you can do so with a court order, but you’ll need to follow your state’s guidelines and restrictions. State rules may vary, but these are the most common: … you may not change your name to escape your debts or other liabilities, and.

At what age can you legally change your name?

16 years old
Once you’re 16 years old, it’s legally your own decision to change your name. If you’re 16 or 17, you’re treated in the same way as an adult, and you can change your own name (by deed poll) without your parents’ consent. (And your parents cannot change your name for you without your own consent.)

Can you change last name without marriage?

If you don’t have the right Marriage or Citizenship Certificate, you need a Superior Court Order. Your Court Order can be a Decree Changing Name from a proper Civil Court.

How long does it take to change your name?

How long does it take to legally change my name? Name change actions can take anywhere from a day, to six (6) months (sometimes even longer). The time it takes for name change actions to be ordered/decreed varies not only from state to state but from county to county and courthouse to courthouse as well.

Can a 13 year old change their last name?

A child age 14 or older must consent to their own name change. If any of the children are 14 or older, each child must complete a consent. This is the form the judge signs to grant the child’s name change. … Make sure to indicate whether or not a new birth certificate should be issued for the child with the new name.

How do I change my daughter’s last name?

In NSW, you can only change a child’s name once in a 12 month period and 3 times in their lifetime. Whilst exceptions exist these are subject to the Registrar’s personal approval. Both parents named on the child’s birth certificate must apply to change their child’s name.

What if my child has a different last name?

If you get a Decree Changing Name (court order), your child can take the nickname instead of the existing legal name, and take the New Legal Name into adulthood. As parents, you can petition for a first name change just because you changed your mind. That’s a perfectly good reason too.

Can my ex wife use my last name for her new baby?

Yes, it is legal. You have no say in what someone else names a child. She could name the child exactly after you, if she wants.

How do I change my child’s last name in Virginia?

A parent or guardian of the child can apply for the name change by submitting an Application for Change of Name of Minor to the Circuit Court. This form must be signed under oath in front of a notary. If both parents are in agreement, then both would sign the application by filling out the joint application portion.

Can I give my baby any last name I want?

You can pretty much give your baby any random surname you want, in the U.S.. In certain jurisdictions, in paternity cases, however, the father can petition to have the name changed on the birth certificate to his last name.

Can my ex make me change my last name?

After a divorce, you cannot legally force your ex-wife to change back to her maiden name. She has the right to keep your last name. Though this may be frustrating, understanding why she wants to keep your last name might help you move on from the disagreement.

Why do ex wives keep last name?

Reasons women may want to keep their ex-husband’s last name

Continuity with children — One of the most common reasons an ex may keep your last name is to keep her name the same as any children. … Even though you are getting a divorce, your wife has likely spent the marriage building a brand for herself around that name.

Can I keep my married name after divorce?

If you are going to keep your married name, you need to say so in the divorce decree. There will be a question that asks if you would like to retain your married name, or be known by your maiden (or former) name. … It is your legal right to keep your married name, even after your husband has moved on.

Are you still Mrs after divorce?

You can use any title you wish. You might like to be called “Mrs.” even after divorce, or you may prefer “Ms” or “Miss”. If you don’t change your surname, you don’t need to complete any legal documentation to change your title – just start using it.

Can I keep my ex husband’s last name if I remarry?

You could decide to maintain your prior spouse’s name, hyphenate prior maiden or prior spouse and new spouse, or even return to your maiden name. You must decide what works best for you and agree on the way forward with your future spouse about name changes.

How do you change your married name back to your maiden name?

Maiden Name Change usually means Getting Your Maiden Name Back after Divorce.

What You Need To Do:
  1. Prepare an Application to Restore Your Former Name.
  2. File Your Application and Order in the correct court. Pay the required fees.
  3. Get Your Court Order and Certified Copy(s) of it. Change your ID and Official Records.

Can I just start using my maiden name again?

Brette’s Answer: You can use your maiden name at any time you want. To change it on legal documents such as a driver’s license, Social Security card, or passports though you need a court order, which usually happens in your divorce decree.

How much does it cost to change your name after divorce?

For anyone reverting to their prior name, they will need a divorce decree, or else marriage and birth certificates from Births, Deaths and Marriages. If you don’t already have this expect to pay between $40 to $65 per certificate. A successful legal name change name change application could cost between $115 and $270.